Over the past ten years, ridesharing has grown to be a significant sector of the American economy. A survey by the Pew Research Center in the fall of 2018 found that 36 percent of American adults had used a ridesharing service like Lyft, up from just 15 percent in late 2015.
A flexible way to earn money is by signing up to drive for a ridesharing service like Lyft. In accordance with Lyft’s 2021 Economic Impact Report, 96% of the company’s drivers are either students or work additional jobs, and 95% of them work fewer than 20 hours per week as platform drivers. That means you can easily fit driving for Lyft into your schedule.
Although Lyft driving offers flexibility, in order to take advantage of this opportunity, you must still meet the platform’s vehicle and driver requirements. Before you apply to drive for Lyft, find out what you need to know about the company’s requirements.
Requirements for Lyft Drivers
There are a number of minimum standards for drivers, which may differ from state to state. Typically, you must:
- The minimum age may range from 21 to 25 years old, depending on where you live.
- Possess an active driver’s license.
- Pass the DMV and background checks. These investigations look for things like a violent crime conviction or recent driving-related issues, like a DUI, within the previous three to seven years.
- Have current and valid auto insurance with your name on the policy, as well as valid license plates with active registration.
- Finish the Community Safety Education programme offered by Lyft.
- They possess a smartphone with the ability to run the Lyft driver app.
Vehicle Requirements for Lyft
Your car must comply with the following specifications in order to be approved to drive for Lyft:
- A taxi, a stretch limo, or some subcompact vehicles like the Chevrolet Aveo, Ford Fiesta, Hyundai Accent, Kia Rio, and various MINI Cooper models are not permitted as vehicles.
- Each region has different minimum and maximum vehicle ages. For instance, drivers of Lyft in Janesville, Madison, Milwaukee, and Sheboygan, Wisconsin, must have a vehicle that is 2006 or newer; in Green Bay, they must have a vehicle that is 2005 or newer; in all other Wisconsin cities, they must have a vehicle that is 2004 or newer. Prospective drivers must research the laws in their area to find out if their car satisfies the local vehicle age requirements.
- The vehicle must have four doors and a total of at least five and up to eight seatbelts, including the driver’s belt.
- The vehicle cannot be titled as salvage, non-repairable, rebuilt, or have a similar designation in many Lyft markets.
- Your car must pass an inspection in some states before you can drive for Lyft. In some cases, you only need to show proof that your vehicle has passed inspection; in these cases, inspections are the same as those demanded of all drivers.
- You must drive one of the eligible luxury cars with a model year no older than 2014 in order to be eligible for Lyft Lux, Lux Black, or Lux Black XL, the platform’s luxury option that allows you to earn more money (2016 for Lux Black). These vehicles must have four passenger seats, excluding the front passenger seat, and a leather interior. Vehicles designated as Lux Black and Lux Black XL must have a black exterior.
Lyft Driver Requirements for Licensing and Registration.
Having a current driver’s license is a prerequisite for working as a Lyft driver, but there are some restrictions. Licenses issued in the US Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, or any other US territory are not accepted by Lyft.
Additionally, your driver’s license must be at least a year old if you intend to drive for Lyft in California, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Vermont, or Washington. Some states will let you drive for Lyft if you have a valid out-of-state driver’s license.
Valid license plates are required. Depending on where you intend to drive and the market, temporary tags might be accepted. Check your local laws to find out if you can drive with temporary license plates or registration.
Some states, like Maryland, which demands a Transportation Network Operator license for Uber drivers, require a special license or registration.
Insurance Requirements for Lyft
In addition to requiring that all of its drivers have current auto insurance, Lyft also offers insurance to its drivers. You are protected by your personal auto insurance if you are in your car with the Lyft app off because this coverage only applies if it is turned on.
If your personal auto policy does not apply and you are involved in an accident while waiting for a fare with the Lyft app activated, Lyft will provide third-party liability insurance for covered accidents. The maximums for this coverage are $50,000 for bodily injury per person, $100,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident.
Lyft offers the following insurance for covered accidents if you are involved in one while picking up a passenger or during a ride with the Lyft app activated:
- $1,000,000 for the principal liability.
- Underinsured or uninsured driver-specific first-party coverage types (not third-party).
- contingent collision and comprehensive coverage up to the car’s actual cash value; $2,500 deductible;
- Some states may have different requirements for your individual auto insurance policy. Before submitting an application to drive for Lyft, be sure to research the requirements in your state.
- Any commercial insurance you have or personal policies that cover ridesharing are more important than Lyft’s insurance.
How Do State-Level Lyft Requirements Differ?
Depending on where you live, there are significant differences in the requirements for everything from drivers and vehicles to the paperwork you must submit as part of the application process. Even if you’ve already driven for Lyft in another location, all prospective drivers must review the application requirements for their city and state.
The Community Safety Education Program at Lyft
The Lyft Community Safety Education Program must be completed by all drivers. The largest American organization against sexual violence, the Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN), and Lyft collaborated to develop this program. Six videos make up the program, which gives drivers the skills they need to deal with uncomfortable and risky situations while out on the road. It also provides clear guidelines on what is prohibited for both drivers and riders.
How to Use
To apply to drive for Lyft, use the Lyft app or the internet. Your name, email address, phone number, and other details that will aid Lyft in determining whether you meet its eligibility requirements must be provided.
After that, it’s possible that you’ll have to wait a few weeks for your background check to finish. New applicants should also anticipate being added to a driver waitlist. Your application request is put on hold by the waitlist until there are more openings for new drivers in your area.
The initial work required to become a Lyft driver may be well worth it in light of the adaptable earning potential the platform offers to drivers. In order to make the application process as seamless as possible and launch your rideshare career, it is important to be aware of the specific requirements needed to become a Lyft driver.